Tags

,

20170712_155658 Josh

Hi my name is Josh, I am currently attending the Burgate School & Sixth Form in which I am studying for my GCSE’S – Maths, English, Science, History, Geography, Philosophy and Ethics and Business Studies. I am really enjoying it there and in my opinion it is one of the friendliest schools around.

I started here on Monday feeling more than a little bit nervous, but as soon as I was introduced to everyone such as Joyce, Roger, Bridget, Katy and so many other volunteers that I instantly lost that nervous feeling and felt so much more welcomed and accepted. Everyone was friendly here and the volunteers were some of the friendliest people I have met in my life. Overall I have really loved this work experience.

I feel that I have learnt so much from all of these exhibits, the Wessex gallery being my favourite and the Warminster Jewel being my favourite thing in it. I have learnt more about costumes and clothing from cataloguing than I would have ever thought I could       (thanks Caroline, Pam, Selina, Sarah, Muriel, Joan and Sue). I have also witnessed the amazing art skills of Rex Whistler and how complicated and fiddly the computer catalogues are (thanks Kaye).  And even helping out at the under five’s crafting morning was more fun than I could have expected.

Overall, I would highly recommend to anyone who studies History, or is just fascinated by what happens behind the scenes in a museum, then I would definitely say that you should do your work experience at the Salisbury Museum. I do think that by doing my work experience here I have now had an in-depth knowledge of what really happens in a museum.

Joshua Merritt

Thank you Josh.  We enjoyed your time with us.

