Tags

Hello again!

Monday (earlier this month) marked my last day at Salisbury Museum as a Collections volunteer. I have had a brilliant few months working with Tracy McClelland and I feel as though we have accomplished a lot. We managed to completely document one whole chest (which doesn’t sound like a lot but trust me it is!) by sorting through it and updating MODES. This will have hopefully made the fine art collection more accessible and kept it up to date.

It has been a great experience working closely with the lovely pieces of art held in the museum’s collection and seeing what lies behind the scenes. My particular favourites were some old maps of Wiltshire that were really interesting to look at.  The placement has also greatly developed my knowledge of how to document collections and given me useful practical experience to accompany my Masters course.

My placement has been a fantastic opportunity that I will recommend to many people, so a big thank you to the museum and particularly to Bridget, who was so helpful in organising it. I’m very sad to be leaving the museum, but I will definitely keep popping in and visiting the exhibitions.

Farewell Emily. Our best wishes and thanks go with you…

Smith close up

