Tags

, , ,

Rachel Herring

Rachel Herring

 

This half-term, I had the opportunity to volunteer at two of the museum’s two-hour ‘Glow Wall’ sessions, as part of my Year Twelve work experience placement. The Glow Wall is a relatively recent addition to the range of interactive holiday activities at the museum, and I very much enjoyed working with some of the regular volunteers, not to mention the many families who were visiting. It was very entertaining to see the children (and adults!) getting creative with the patterns and shapes they could make with their torches, and I also had fun trying out the Glow Wall myself…

As a Year Twelve student studying, History, German, English Literature and Philosophy at South Wilts Grammar school in Salisbury, I was asked to organise a five-day work placement, which I will complete in the summer holidays. I chose to apply to the museum primarily because of my interest in history and heritage (which I hope to study as a joint honours course with German at University), but also because I saw it as an opportunity to engage with and contribute to a part of my local community.

I am grateful to the museum staff and volunteers for allowing me to spend my placement with them, and I look forward to working in new areas of the museum in July.

Thank you  Rachel.  We look forward to seeing you again later in the year.

