Tags

,

It will soon be time to wish Intern Sophie a fond farewell, when we seem hardly to have had the chance to get to know her! 

Here is her latest blog – and it is yet another interesting one…

In my last post I wrote about the physical jobs I’ve been doing at the Salisbury Museum – moving, packing, drilling, painting and the like, as this was what I was focusing on at the time. However, throughout all of this I had small pockets of time up in the office (with magnificent views of the King’s House and Salisbury Cathedral) to get on with the desk-based side of things.

This has covered a wide range of jobs to support the de-installation of Constable in Context as well as the installation of British Art: Ancient Landscapes (open 8th April – 3rd September 2017). From drafting thank you letters and checking through the loans agreements, to researching all of the artists in order to write stewarding notes with interesting facts, it has given me a real insight into the less visible processes behind putting on temporary exhibitions.

Alongside my exhibitions work I’ve also got to know MODES, the collections software, testing some developing aspects of it, as well as working with the learning team, particularly on the Trowel Trail.

DSC_9857

I have had great fun working on the Trowel Trail and now that it has launched, I hope many families will too. It is the new family trail that runs through all the permanent galleries and has a theme of archaeology. From a series of questions written by another volunteer, Ian, I was tasked with pulling it into a finished product. I enjoyed going around the galleries, trying to see things from a child’s perspective and testing the questions. I picked a simple colour theme that borrowed the navy of the museum’s logo and got going, drawing numerous trowels and employing free access images in combination with photographs of objects in the collection. With a few tweaks to the logo to follow consistency standards, it was done! Complete with the set of orange trowels in situ in cases, the trail has been popular with children I’ve seen using it, so hopefully this continues!

Sadly, my time on placement is nearly over – just some map designs, a questionnaire and environmental monitoring to go before I head back up north to Durham to finish my Masters degree, leaving a trail of orange trowels behind me. I have learnt just how much you can achieve in a week; that the buildings here are every bit as important as the collection; the friendliness of a small, close-knit team with an abundance of knowledgeable volunteers; and that the sun (almost) always shines in Salisbury – I’m sure I’ll be back soon.

Thank you Sophie

