More news from our Aspire trainee Nicola…

tate

Over the past few weeks I have been fortunate enough to have been given the opportunity to visit Tate Britain not once, but twice!

The first of my trips was a shadowing day as part of my traineeship. I found the day absolutely fascinating – being able to chat to curators and members of staff gave me such an insight into how a national museum functions. The work that goes on behind the scenes at Tate is incredible; it was really interesting to see how some aspects of what they do differs hugely from ourselves, while other portions are very similar. A big thank you to Gracie and all at Tate for giving up your time to talk to me and make me feel so welcome!

My second trip came a week later, and this time I was not alone! Jan (our retail manager), alongside those from Aspire and Tate, managed to organise a “Tate Road Trip” for the Constable in Context exhibition volunteers. Therefore last Wednesday, 35 of us hopped on a coach at 8am and headed to London. It was a really great day, with an opportunity to visit Tate’s Constable Room, speak to Tate guides, and access the Prints and Drawings Study Room to see further Constable work. With a delicious lunch and free time to wander the many exhibitions in Tate, it was a great opportunity for everyone to mingle with those they wouldn’t normally see during a shift at Salisbury Museum. Even the four and a half hour coach ride home couldn’t dampen our spirits too greatly after such a wonderful day.

Nicola (Aspire Trainee)

tate-visit

