Tags

, , ,

Aspire Trainee Update

Next week marks the start of a very exciting (albeit briefly stressful) chapter in my Aspire traineeship at the museum – the Constable in Context exhibition is finally opening! One thing that I really did not appreciate enough before starting the traineeship was the amount of effort by staff and volunteers that goes into preparing every small detail of the exhibition. The last couple of months have indeed been hard work, and sometimes stressful, however they have also been hugely gratifying and thoroughly enjoyable.

Since July, I have been working on a variety of projects in relation to the exhibition. To now see some of these completed, or at least nearing completion, has been very rewarding. One of the highlights of my time so far was sending the finished exhibition captions off for printing. This was the first of my projects, and one that consumed a great deal of my time for the first month of the traineeship.  There was a great sense of accomplishment (and sheer relief) following the amount of time which other members of staff and myself had spent perfecting these captions – I now have a new found respect for those who have had to create hundreds of captions for an exhibition! See below for an image of the first caption I ever mounted when helping Joyce set up our Anna Dillion exhibition upstairs. For some reason, she decided not to use it in the exhibition (no idea why……).

2222222

 

Now that the exhibition is opening, I turn my attention fully towards education and marketing. My next two projects, currently nearing completion, are an educational resource for schools visiting the exhibition and a family trail around the Museum. I have really enjoyed this aspect of the traineeship and I am looking forward to getting more involved with the educational side of the exhibition. So watch this space!

333333

Nicola

