Tags

, , , , , ,

My first introduction to General Pitt-Rivers was during a visit to the Larmer Tree Gardens. I was impressed to read how he had opened his gardens to the local people, to further their general education.

When I had the chance to learn more about Pitt-Rivers during a two day course run by the museum, I took the opportunity. His life and archaeological work was fascinating and the second day of the course was spent visiting the local area, where much of the work was carried out. I felt that it would be interesting to be involved and now find myself as a volunteer, handling, repacking and labelling the many items from the Pitt-Rivers collection.

Being involved in the work of the museum helps one realise how important the volunteers are to the running of it all. I am very glad to be of help.

 Marilyn Beattie

 

